Skip to the content
02/19/2020 IHG Careers Team

A day in the life of a Director of Sales and Marketing

Hello, I’m Doug Kelly and I’ve been part of the IHG team for 3 years. Before that I was with Kimpton for 5 years and I’m currently based at the InterContinental Houston Medical Center, where I’m the Director of Sales and Marketing.

Put some coffee in the tank
First things first, my day starts with a good cup of coffee. Once I’ve enjoyed that I can prioritise what needs to be at the front of my thinking, create a list of action items to refer to and check over action items from the day before. That’s the administrative start of the day, but even more important is taking the time to touch base with every member of my team. As their leader, I think it’s vital to set the tone for the rest of the day from the outset, with a positive attitude and affirmative engagement.

No such thing as a typical day
Each day in this post is a whole new adventure, and that’s exactly what I love about the job I’m in. I’m given the autonomy to build something that’s entirely my own, with the help of a first rate team. The average afternoon involves a combination of meeting with clients and strategizing with members of the team. We’re constantly looking for ways to make sure that the hotel continues to be the success it is. I carry my notebook with me everywhere I go, from first thing in the morning to when I finish work at 6pm. When you spend all day every day engaging with co-workers, clients and guests you find yourself with a stream of important events, observations and facts to take away with you, and every one of them goes into my notebook.

Making that connection
It’s that kind of personal connection which I can honestly say is my favourite part of the job. I feel privileged to spend each day engaging first hand with employees and guests from all walks of life, forging the kind of links that the hospitality business is built on. It’s hard to pick a least favourite aspect of my job, but the honest truth is that part of any managers work involves having to make the kind of tough decisions and have difficult conversations that you’d probably rather not make or have. To anyone thinking of following in my footsteps I’d say that the most important attribute is the ability to be selfless. You’re a leader, so you have to put the needs of your hotel and your team first, and try to see things from the perspective of the owners you work for and the people working under you.

 

Family first
When it comes to inspiration, nothing makes me want to work harder day in, day out than the chance to set a great example to my family and my kids. That’s why, if I ever get a spare few hours, I never think of anything but spending some time with them. Back at work, I’m inspired by the support system offered by the senior leadership team at IHG. Throughout my time with the company they’ve offered guidance, support and the chance to learn first-hand from their years of experience.

In the long term
Looking to the future, I see myself overseeing a region of hotels, and taking on the role of guiding new, younger directors to becoming leaders in their markets. I’d like to provide the next generation with the kind of tools and knowledge which I’ve had handed down to me during my time with IHG.

Doug is just one of the many passionate people who work in our hotels. If his story inspires you to pursue a rewarding career in sales then why wait? Hit the Apply Now button at the top of the page and start your own adventure.

Related stories

Profile picture of Shane

Progression with no limits: Shane’s Hospitality Journey

We caught up with Shane De Saram, just one of our many valued members of the IHG family.
Shane embodies the idea that real hard work pays off. Here he lifts the lid on his hospitality journey so far and why this is only the beginning…

 

Read more

True Hospitality for everyone

What does “True Hospitality for Everyone” means to us? Respect, welcoming, distinctive, engaging, reassuring, and much more.

Read more

Celebrating difference at IHG

At IHG, celebrating difference has always been an important part of our culture. 

Read more
Back to top

跳转至内容
2020年2月19日 IHG职业团队

销售和市场总监的一天

您好,我是Doug Kelly,并且已经加入IHG团队3年了。在那之前,我在金普顿(Kimpton)工作了5年,目前居住在休斯敦洲际医学中心,在那儿我是销售和市场总监。

在罐子里放些咖啡
首先,我的一天从喝一杯好咖啡开始。享受完之后,我可以优先考虑需要考虑的事情,创建要引用的操作项列表,并从前一天开始检查操作项。那是管理上的开始,但更重要的是花时间与团队中的每个成员保持联系。作为他们的领导者,我认为至关重要的是从一开始就以积极的态度和积极的参与定下基调。

没有典型的一天
这篇文章中的每一天都是全新的冒险,而这正是我对自己所从事的工作的热爱。在一流的团队的帮助下,我有自主权来打造完全属于我的东西。每个下午的平均时间包括与客户会面和与团队成员进行战略制定的结合。我们一直在寻找确保酒店继续保持成功的方式。从早上的第一件事到下午6点结束工作,我随身携带笔记本。当您整日与同事,客户和客人互动时,您会发现一系列重要的事件,观察和事实带给您自己,而其中每一个都进入我的笔记本。

建立连接
我可以坦白地说,这种人际关系是我工作中最喜欢的部分。我感到很荣幸能每天与各行各业的员工和客人进行第一手的接触,建立了酒店业务赖以建立的联系。很难选择我的工作中最不喜欢的一个方面,但是诚实的事实是,任何经理工作的一部分都涉及到做出艰难的决定并进行艰难的对话,而这些对话可能是您不愿做或不愿做的。对于任何想跟随我的脚步的人,我会说,最重要的属性是无私的能力。您是领导者,因此必须首先考虑酒店和团队的需求,并尝试从您所服务的所有者和您所下属的人们的角度看待事情。

 

家庭优先
当谈到灵感时,没有什么比让我为家人和孩子树立榜样的机会让我更努力地日复一日地工作了。这就是为什么,如果我有空闲的几个小时,除了花一些时间与他们在一起,我什么都不会想到。回到工作中,我受到了洲际酒店集团高级领导团队提供的支持系统的启发。在我为公司服务的整个过程中,他们提供了指导,支持以及从他们多年的经验中直接学习的机会。

在长期
展望未来,我看到自己监督着酒店区域,并承担着引导年轻的年轻董事成为其市场领导者的角色。我想为下一代提供在IHG工作期间传给我的工具和知识。

道格只是在我们酒店工作的众多热情人士之一。如果他的故事激励您从事销售事业,那么为什么还要等待?点击页面顶部的立即应用按钮,开始自己的冒险。

相关故事

Shane的头像

永不停歇的进取之旅:沙恩的酒店业之旅

沙恩·德·萨兰姆(Shane De Saram)是洲际酒店集团大家庭的重要成员之一,最近他接受了我们的采访。
沙恩坚信辛勤工作一定会有回报。他为我们讲述了自己至今为止在酒店服务业的工作经历,并解释了为何他认为这只是一切的开端……

 

了解更多

真正的待客之道

传递“真正的待客之道”对我们意味着什么?尊重,欢迎,与众不同,参与,放心等等。

了解更多

洲际酒店集团的求同存异

在洲际酒店集团,求同存异一直是我们文化的重要组成部分。 

了解更多
返回页首